Chapter History

Cocoplum received official society recognition in 1983. Founding members included Ella "Mike" Clark who invited the chapter to hold meetings and grow plants at the Environmental Studies Center (which she co-founded within the Martin County School District); Tom and Eve Conlon, who with like-minded Martin County people founded Possum Long Nature Center; Maggy Hurchalla, county commissioner 1974-1994;  Les and Ann Scherer (Les served as chapter rep for many years); Buck and Elaine Taylor;  

 to be continued... 




Published on  October 11th, 2020